The GEBG is lead by a Board of Directors elected to provide mission-based leadership and strategic governance. The Board is responsible for the supervision, control and direction of the GEBG. While day-to-day operations are led by the Executive Director (ED) and staff, the vision laid out by the Board of Directors is executed by formal committees and less formal working groups. Additionally, Regional Groups offer member schools the opportunity to engage with other member schools and the work of the GEBG according to location.


GEBG Committees are chaired by a board member and are formed according to the organization’s bylaws. Committee members communicate on an ongoing basis via email and in virtual meetings to discuss and conduct the work of the committee. The standing committees include:

  • Executive Committee
  • Board Development Committee
  • Annual Conference Committee
  • Strategic Planning Committee
  • Endorsement Committee


In some cases, committees have subcommittees that are formed to address a specific need for the committee. Currently, the only committee with subcommittees is the Annual Conference Committee. The subcommittees in this group include:

  • Presenters subcommittee

Working Groups

Working groups are formed by the Board of Directors and are chaired by a board member to address a specific task or need of the organization. These groups conduct research, carry out specific projects identified by committees or the Board of Directors. Current working groups include:

  • Curriculum and Collaboration Working Group
    • Assessments
    • GET Prize
  • GEBG Database Working Group (formerly the Critical Incident Database)

Regional Groups

Regional groups provide opportunities for member schools to meet outside of the annual conference to discuss, share and collaborate. Regional Groups ideally host one regional meeting (physically) and may offer other virtual meeting opportunities. Regional groups may wish to share resources, offer professional development opportunities, or student collaborative projects.

Contact us for more information about GEBG leadership or if you are interested in serving as a leader within the organization submit an interest form here.

Board of Directors


Executive Director
Joe Vogel, Hathaway Brown School
read more

Assistant Director
Clare Sisisky, Collegiate School
read more

Saya McKenna, Head-Royce School
read more

Wally Swanson, Wilbraham & Monson Academy
read more

Director Emeritus
William G. Fluharty, Cape Henry Collegiate
read more

Current Board Members

Laura Appell-Warren, St. Mark’s School
read more

Nishad Das, Groton School
read more

Chad Detloff, Chadwick School
read more

Loren Fauchier, Providence Day School
read more

Mike Hanewald, The Lawrenceville School
read more

Tené Howard, Packer Collegiate Institute
read more

David Lynn, Charlotte Country Day School
read more

John Nordquist, Cross-Perspective Consulting
read more

Danny Reynolds, Palmer Trinity School
read more

Manjula Salomon, Palmer Trinity School
read more

David Thompson, Hotchkiss School
read more

Interested in Joining Our Leadership Team?